Work It! Work It!











{November 5, 2011}   All About The Core

Today, if you couldn’t guess was Core 20/Stretch 10.

I do not use resistance for ab exercises. I may change my mind in the future, but honestly, I feel it’s totally unnecessary.

Sure, resistance doesn’t bulk women up to look like men, but that doesn’t meant it doesn’t add some mass. If you look at serious marathon runners the one thing they lack is muscle. At least in their upper body. It would weigh them down and cause wind resistance. If they lifted weights I’m sure they could have some nice arm muscles, but they would never bulk up.

My point is, I want my waist and abs as small as possible. I don’t want any extra muscle there that is not strictly to improve my balance or stabilization. If I have enough muscle to protect my back when I pick something up, using my legs like a good girl, then I’m fine.

I finally figured out at least one reward I could give myself that doesn’t involve food or spending a lot of money, i.e. new clothes or a massage. Fresh flowers. I love buying myself flowers, but I only do it about once a year. So, right now, my reward for each month of working out will be some fresh flowers from the grocery store.

It’s good for a few reason, aside from not being food, it will be beautiful and cheerful in the coming winter months and every time I look at them I will be reminded that they are there because of my commitment to working out.

You can’t get that reminder from food.

I think when I have finished the whole round I will buy myself some new clothes. Not a lot, but maybe 2 pairs of pants at least. I probably have some shirts that will fit me when I finish this round.

Another reward I will give myself once I finish will be to get rid of all the clothes that are too big! That will be a lovely reward. It will also be great timing because I finish the first week of April so with the change of seasons comes purging of winter clothes anyway.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
