Work It! Work It!











{March 16, 2011}   Week 9 Day 7

Everything was going pretty good until the weekend. ARRG.

So we are still at Joe’s mom’s. Her sister-in-law is coming to visit so we all cleaned over the weekend. (more on that later)

Joe’s mom banned me from cooking or otherwise using the kitchen. Yeah. WTF.  I get it, it just makes it really complicated for me. The first few days I did okay because we had just grocery shopped, but now we are out of food that does not involve cooking.   Plus Margaret plans on not only eating out the next couple of days (I will be spending a lot of time with Margaret and her sister-in-law) but she wants to go to places that are notorious in the Chicagoland area. As in, delicious, but will give you a heart attack. No healthy options.  It’s the kind of places where the salads have more calories than the burgers.

Now for the even worse news. I was doing great on my exercising. On Saturday, while I was cleaning, I spent a good chunk of time on my computer (I was scanning paper work to keep in a file or I was putting important info that I just scribbled on a piece of paper into a file on the computer and while I was doing that I decided to finally organize the whole mess.)

Unfortunately I do not have great posture when I am enthralled with what I am doing on a computer. I was hunched over for hours at a time.

You can imagine what this did to my back. I worked out on Monday anyway, thinking it may actually help just to move it around. I didn’t pull my back, it’s just really tight. Of course yesterday (Tuesday) I was in a lot of pain. The muscles were insanely tight all up and down my spine. My traps were like one giant diamond (both in shape and hardness.) Also, yesterday I was hunched over quite a bit while I was painting. It only added to it. Although I did put on some of those heat pad things that stick to you.  Unfortunately I bought the generic brand to save money and it was not the same.

I am considering doing the last strength work out. I don’t want to because I don’t want to pull my back/be in more pain, especially since tomorrow I will have to walk around the Zoo for most of the day. However, I really want to do the work out.  I didn’t do the cardio yesterday so I’m even more tempted to do the strength work out. Especially since I have a massage scheduled for tomorrow night.

I will decide after I work on the drawings I absolutely have to do today. If my back is not too bad after those then I will do the work out.  Since those must be done today (more in a minute) they get priority over the work out. Although I may still do the yoga work out. I have a great yoga for back care DVD by Rodney Yee, but that’s at the apartment.

 

Now for some other news. I have to go to my Grandma’s house for roughly 7 weeks.  I need to help with a few things. It came up pretty suddenly.  I will be traveling while I’m there (for 3 out of the 7 weeks) and I have an online class that I’m doing so there will be times when I have internet access, but for the most part I will not.  I will still be working out. I will be eating even better than I am now. (No awful food to tempt me except the delicious soda that they bottle down there, everyone is raised on it down there, i.e. born addicted.)

This will leave blogging as very low on priority list.  I will try to check in once a week, but I can’t guarantee it.

I will also be studying for a placement test and a CDL written test. I am going back to school for my Master’s (and possibly, eventually my Doctorate) in Art Therapy.  Sad news for me: I must take 5 more undergrad classes before I can start the Master’s. One of those being Statistics. I was under the impression that statistics would just be, ya know, statistics, but apparently it’s really hard and complicated.  Being an art major I did not have to do real math. I swear to you, with out any exaggeration at all, in the one college level math class that I took, we did not do one math problem.  It was art math (which cracks Margaret up to no end.) We played some games where we discussed probability and odds in theory and we talked about the GOLDEN RATIO which is a bit of a small obsession with me.

Long story, not so short, I have to teach myself pre-Algebra and algebra before the summer. If I’m quick I may also be able to teach myself calc too, but I don’t think so.  I have not done algebra for 13 years. I was bad at it then.  I never tried calc.  Here’s hoping I can place into a college level math so I only have to do 2 semesters of school before my master’s.

I am applying for a bus driver job to support me over the next year of classes so I must get a CDL permit in order to drive the chil’en’s around.

I mentioned the for fun online writing class I signed up for when my life seems like I would never have anything to do ever again, right?

I also promised Margaret the illustrations for her children’s book would be finished 3 months from the last week in February.

OH and I really wanted to sign up for volunteering at the VA (2 weeks ago when I still had no plans for the future.)   I am still going to do that, but I just have to see if I can start the process at the St. Louis VA so that when I come back in 2 months I can just start working with the Vets.

I was really excited for that.

It is nice to feel like there’s a purpose/goal again, I just wish it hadn’t coincided with some crazy stuff going on at the home front.  Not to mention the 3 trips that were already planned, well in advance.

Yeah, now that it’s all down on “paper” (I wonder what that saying is going to change to when no one actually uses paper any more) I’m pretty sure I will not be making the internet a priority at all outside of my already paid for online class.  I will probably just post if there are any dramatic body changes.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
