Work It! Work It!











{February 17, 2011}   Thoughts

(possibly a long winded rant about my reasons for buying BB products and for being a coach, not meant to push it onto anyone, just MO and reasons. If you don’t want to read about this, I won’t be offended if you just skip this post. :D)

Because I decided to become a coach I did a little research before hand and I am still doing research. I found a great site with somewhat unbiased info on being a coach. He loves the products, but was fired from being a coach. When he was fired he was a diamond coach. That’s pretty high up there. Although he does seem a bit angry and he calls people who are currently coaches stupid, quite a bit.

I am still looking over his page. I too love the products and am happy to have the discounts while I want them. However, I am still unsure how much time and energy I want to put into this. Yes, it’s like Mary Kay and Avon, what you put in is what you get out. However, I don’t know if I want to put a whole lot in. Of course I want to help people, but I am not willing to set aside time I could otherwise use for my art career. (Although if you know me….) So I will probably not make a lot of money, especially with the attitude I have about it.

While I love telling all my friends and family about products that I love, whether I make money or not (hello Burt’s Bees and the Nook, iPad, Santa Fe, avacados), I don’t feel comfortable asking them to be coaches. It seems like the coach thing started out as a way of helping people make money and get fit, but it seems that perhaps somethings are being done to discourage sales for coaches and focus more on bringing in more coaches (more like a pyramid scheme, less like an actual way to make money without ripping off your friends and family). I want to make money before I even tell most people I am a coach. I know, backwards right?
I just started so I don’t know for sure.

The reason I am not going to stop being a coach?

I still want to help people lose weight and if my coach can help  me get to the Emerald level where BB starts giving me customers to help, then I will gladly do it.

I still want my discount. It’s $39 to start, plus $14.99 a month after that. Now, if you do any research about any MLM (Mary Kay), franchises, independent contractor sales (Cutco, I really heart their knives), weight loss groups, gym memberships, etc. You will see that you have to not only pay start up fees, but also monthly fees for most (not all). Weight watchers is probably around $20 a month now, maybe way more. Cutco and Mary Kay are at least a couple hundred to start, do we really need to talk about gym memberships and fees with their contracts?

I would also like to add that one of the guys mentioned that on the before and after stories BB puts results not typical. So does Weight Watchers and I lost 50 lbs with them. The reason results aren’t typical is because people don’t follow the plan or they quit.  Not everyone who buys the product is going to stick it out.

Even after the $14.99 I still save 10-15 a month on the shakeology, after the first 2 orders. I’ve been reading that some people have a problem with this drink and let me say that I was very hesitant to buy it. I like protein shakes, but I was happy with the one I had.  However, my own poor food choices lead me to try it. Almost a week in and I’m not sorry. Yes, of course, whole foods are better, but for now I will continue to add whole foods into my diet and drink shakeology.  It’s a tool for me until I have the habits in place that will help me get my nutrition from whole sources. It’s tasty. It helps me have one meal a day where I don’t have to do anything more than put water and powder in a shaker cup and shake. No need for anything more complicated, no need for a thought, unless I want to add my banana a pb.  Also, thanks to my cousins blender washing trick, even less clean up than any other meal I make.
I also save 25% on all products. I have been thinking about buying Yoga Booty Ballet for a couple of years now. I have purchased Power 90, Slim in 6, ChaLEAN Extreme, and Turbo Fire with out the discount. Joe wanted Insanity, I want the YBB and I was already looking at the Brazilian Butt Lift (can you tell I want a nice backside?) Not to mention I want the deluxe DVD’s for CX and TF. If I save 20 bucks (I don’t know the actual discount for each product) that’s $100 dollars savings. I already have my monthly payments taken care of because of the shakeology plus 10 or 15 bucks, I already bought 2 orders of shakeology so there’s my start up fee.  $100 savings + 15 every month that I use Shakeology. If I’m not making money when I am finished with Shakeology I won’t be a coach any more. I have lost no money that I would not have already spent and I would have saved well over $100 bucks.  Shakeology, with the coach discount is $3 a meal. I spend $6 any time I go to McDonald’s and since I go to Panera almost exclusively now, I spend $12.
I was reading another blog where a fitness model who was at one time employed by BB wrote a review about BB products. He said obvious things, like, you could get the same results from running uphill or sprints. He mocked the programs and someone (maybe a commentor or on another site) mentioned how cheap it is to actually make a DVD.

I know I could get great results by running or lifting at the gym. The problem is, I hate running.  The gym is fine until during the summer when all the teenage boys are there and they take over the weight room. Yeah, it bothers me enough that I stop going. They are jerks. (In my experience)

I get bored with it. I don’t know what to do on my own that is effective. Chalene does.  Not only that but, Chalene’s style motivates me. I was spending 30 bucks a month for a gym I never went to, for classes that had only a couple of teachers that I didn’t really like. Even with yoga or pilates, which I love, I just didn’t like their teachers or the classes were so crowded that I couldn’t get in. But that was the only option around me, unless I wanted to pay a fee just for a yoga class with no pool, cardio, or weight option. Do you know how pissed I am when I actually go to the gym and want to work out, but I can’t get into the class I want? Yeah, I’m the type to turn around and go to McDonald’s and pout with a Big Mac.

Also, I’ve gone to the gym for two months at a time before and saw absolutely no results. NONE. Again, I don’t know what to do. Should I spend the price of those DVDs a month for a personal trainer?

Chicago has nasty weather right now. I don’t even want to take my dogs out in it, let alone haul all my stuff to the gym, change, work out, shower there, change again and with wet-hair travel back home.  Plus that’s not even including that now, travel time would involve some serious walking and train time. At least an hour travel for me. Nope, no gym closer.  Thanks CTA and that teenage girl who ran a red light, totaled Joe’s car, lied to the cops about the red light and had no insurance.

I am way too lazy for all that. It’s hard enough sometimes to get off the couch and go to another room for a work out.

As for the cost of making a DVD, do they not put into account all the hard work, time, and people that go into making them? Some people may find the DVDs expensive. I know I do. But really, I spend more on that in books almost every time I go into a book store. I love books. I’m happy to hand over my money for that.

I’m also happy to pay less than the sign up fee at my gym or personal trainer fee for a set of DVDs that actually make me get up off the couch.

These are just my reasons. I wanted to write this post because I was feeling pretty bummed out by everything that I read. I needed to remind myself exactly why I made the decisions I did. Why I am using these DVDs instead of still paying for that gym I never went to or going outside in frigid weather to plod along in the street because the side walks will not be cleared until a warm front moves in to melt the snow.

Katie B. says:

Dude I know where your coming from. The 2 weeks I went to the “gym” with Andrew I felt like it was pointless and I was getting asthma from running in the cold. I don’t know how to lift weights effectively and can’t afford a personal trainer. The cost of the DVD is worth it of you just think of how many times you put them in the player. Plus if you’re doing it 6 days a week AND it can travel with you wherever you go, you’ll never have to miss a workout. Not to mention it makes me sweat like I was in volleyball practice but it was only 30-40 min as opposed to 1-2 hrs. AND I’m reaching a level of flexibility I’ve never had because Chalene tells me the right way to do it and to keep pushing further. I’ve never had that before. So long story short, you go girl!!! Lol



Right?!
One of them was talking smack about Shakeology too and I mentioned it to Joe. Joe brought up that a lot of people use creatin and I said, yeah the guy talking about Shakeology mentioned that he uses that. Joe said creatin can be really bad because it adds water weight to the muscles to make them look bigger, but not add strength. He said the point of gaining muscle in the rest of your body was to make it so the heart doesn’t need to work so hard, but just having extra weight that’s not muscle makes the heart have to work harder. So basically using creatin to make your muscles larger, but not stronger, is similar to being over weight, heart health wise. You just look better.

I’m in a better mood now. I was just so worried about Tux that I shouldn’t even have read that stuff because it just made it worse.

I understand if they don’t like Beach Body or whatever, but what ever works, works. If it helps me get excited about working out that hard, then what does their opinion matter?

I’m glad you agree cuz I know how smart you are. 😀



Blade says:

I want to become a coach eventually, but I have decided for me personally it will be more effective if I wait till after I complete at least the 1st round of P90X, and lose some weight.

I agree with you and Katie about the DVD’s, I hate gyms and with the DVD’s they are always here, and i always see them. I feel guilty if I look at the dvd’s and I didn’t work out yet lol.

Like today, I worked out in the evening instead of the morning because I had some stuff to take care off, well every single time I passed the DVD set, I felt that pange of guilt in me until finally at 5:30 i said enough guilt lets get to it.

-Blade
BLOG: http://www.bladecoates.com



LOL, yeah I get that guilty feeling too.

The coaching and the work outs are very personal decisions. It’s all about what works for you. Good luck with your work outs!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
