Work It! Work It!











{February 7, 2011}   Week 7 Day 5!

I think I forgot to mention that one of the first times I did stretch 10 I got a kink in my neck. It still isn’t 100% and that’s why I have been very careful with my neck while it’s been sore.   I am the same way with my knees. I will never do burpees the full way. I only do modified because when I was in H.S. we had to do them for those fitness things and I hyper extended my knee. I was in the best shape of my life (so far) at the time sooooo. Not going to do that again if I can help it. I also hurt my neck about 3 years ago. I pulled something just from getting out of bed. I couldn’t move it for awhile. Car rides made me almost cry. So with the memory of that I want to be extra careful.

Pre-Breakfast (before my work out) a glass of water and a small handful of cashews.

Breakfast: Oatmeal.

Lunch: 2 light hot dogs and some grape juice

Dinner: 2 more hot dogs and a root beer (Joe’s brother drank the rest of the juice)

Exercise: Push Circuit 2/Stretch 10

I feel great. The stimulant* I take for ADD helps me breathe. I may have mentioned I normally have a stuffy nose all the time. The stimulant takes care of that so I can get loads of oxygen to my lovely little brain.  I worked out first thing in the morning. Although it still took me 20 minutes to get everything together. That’s the danger of starting when I am still fuzzy. The good news is that it gave the stimulant time to start working.   I can see why it’s not that hard for people to work out first thing in the morning if this is how they feel afterwards. I practiced Chalene’s “I’m up, I’m up, I’m up, I’m working out, I’m working out, I’m working out,” monologue in my head instead of focusing on how sleepy I was or how I just wanted breakfast soooo bad.

Basically, with out the stimulant I do not get any of the mood enhancing benefits from exercise.  Just the calorie burn/added muscle.

*If someone has ADD stimulants (well most of the time) don’t react the same. It’s not like I’m coked out when I am doing the work out. Ritalin actually makes me drowsy, but it allows me to work through the drowsy. It’s not distracting. Where as otherwise I am too tired to do much of anything other than stare at the t.v.  Plus with working out, being able to breathe, actually does give me energy now. It shakes off the drowsiness caused by the ritalin, at least for an hour or two.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
